One Bowl No Rise Quick Bread

Standard

Last night, around midnight, the hubby hinted of how nice it would be to have bread for breakfast. I totally agree. Nothing beats being greeted by freshly baked bread in the morning, the entire apartment smelling like a bakery. It has been several months since I’ve baked bread and I just really wanted to satisfy the hubby’s craving.

One small setback though. I got home pretty late from a dinner meeting and I didn’t have time to work on the dough, give it time to rise, shape it, and let it rise again. Not if I was hoping to get a few hours of sleep.

A huge thanks to Averie Sunshine for her 30-minute quick bread recipe. This recipe saved me and satisfied our craving big time.

Before I post the recipe, some confessions:

1. Whole wheat flour is not easily available here in the Philippines so I used all purpose flour. The original recipe calls for 1 cup all purpose flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour.

2. Molasses are also hard to come by here, so I simply added an additional 1 tbsp honey as substitute to the 1 tbsp molasses.

3. Another rare ingredient here is buttermilk. I usually substitute this with 2 tbsp white vinegar or lemon juice + 1 cup of milk. If you have the real deal, go ahead and use it. I envy you.

4. The original recipe says it only takes 30 minutes from start to finish. It took me about an hour to get the ingredients ready, let the milk+white vinegar sit and curdle a bit, etc. The good thing was I finished the clean up even before the first half of the baking period.

The bread still came out great though it was denser than Averie’s bread. I’m putting the blame on my baking soda. Looks like it’s not fresh anymore. But overall, it’s just perfect with jam or cheese or just butter. It’s also

Again, the original recipe is here. Now, here’s my version:

Ingredients:
1 cup milk + 2 tbsp white vinegar
2 cups all purpose flour
2 tsp baking soda
pinch of kosher salt
2 tbsp canola oil
3 tbsp honey
1 tbsp muscovado sugar

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 400F.
2. Mix together 1 cup milk + 2 tbsp white vinegar, let sit for 10 minutes to allow milk to curdle.
3. Meanwhile, spray baking sheet with non-stick cooking spray. (I don’t have a cast iron skillet but if you do, use it by all means.)
4. In a clean bowl, mix together all ingredients, except for the milk+vinegar mixture.
5. Pour the milk+vinegar mixture into the mixture. Stir until combined. We are aiming for a loose, very moist dough. Anyway, we won’t be kneading the dough so don’t be afraid if your dough seems to be too moist. If your dough looks dry, add up to 1/4 cup of a milk+vinegar mixture.
6. Turn dough out into greased baking sheet. For a circular mound. Make sure it’s not too tall (aim for about 3 inches in height) nor to spread out (maximum of about 6 inches wide).
7. Bake at 400F for 15 minutes. Then turn heat down to 350F and rotate the pan. Bake for another 10 minutes.
8. Immediately transfer bread to wire rack and cool.
9. Enjoy!

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

